Region Elections

ACWA Region Elections

2017 is an election year for ACWA's 10 regions for the 2018-'19 term. All region board members serve a two-year term and are elected by their region membership. The Region boards serve many important functions, such as organizing tours and programs that educate ACWA's membership, activating grassroots support for issues and articulating regional views. View 2017 Election Timeline HERE.


Region 1

Penny Cuadras, Hidden Valley Lake Community Services District

Larry Doss, Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation and Conservation District

Daniel Muelrath, Valley of the Moon Water District

David Hull, Humboldt Community Services District


Region 2

Jeff Sutton , Tehama-Colusa Canal Authority

Lewis Bair, Reclamation District # 108

Thad Bettner, Glenn-Colusa Irrigation District

Ted Trimble, Western Canal Water District


Region 3

Brian Poulsen, El Dorado Irrigation District

Richard Solbrig, South Tahoe Public Utility District

Andrew Fecko, Placer County Water Agency


Region 4

Richard Atkins, Stockton East Water Agency

Mike Hardesty, Reclamation District #2068

Ron Greenwood, Carmichael Water District


Region 5

Jill Duerig, Zone 7 Water Agency

Rick Gilmore, Byron Bethany Irrigation District

Bette Boatman, Contra Costa Water District


Region 6

Jeff Bryant , Firebaugh Canal Water District

Gary Serrato, Fresno Irrigation District

Ara Azhderian, San Luis & Delta-Mendota WA


Region 7

Phil Nixon, Los Hills Water District

Dan Vink, Lower Tule Irrigation District

Jason Gianquinto, Semitropic Water Storage District

Jason Phillips, Friant Water Authority


Region 8

Tony Zampiello, Main San Gabriel Basin Watermaster

Nina Jazmadarian, Foothill Municipal Water District

Jerry Gladbach, Castaic Lake Water Agency

Susan Mulligan, Calleguas MWD


Region 9

Randy Record, Eastern Municipal Water District

Greg Morrison, Elsinore Valley Municipal Water District

Tina Shields, Imperial Irrigation District

Nancy Wright, Mission Springs


Region 10

Doug Wilson, Padre Dam MWD

Bob Hill, El Toro Water District

Phil Anthony, Orange County WD

Gary Arant, Valley Center Municipal Water District


The ACWA region election process is under way for the 2018-2019 term. The elections reconstitute the boards of each region, including the region chair, vice chair and board members.

Nominating committees were appointed by the current chairs of each region. The committees are tasked with identifying and reviewing qualifications of eligible region chair, vice chair and board member candidates for the 2018-’19 term.

Election materials will be emailed to ACWA member agency General Managers and Board Presidents on May 1. Included in the email will be links to information about the role and responsibilities of the regions, election timeline, region rules and regulations, candidate nomination form and a sample resolution.

Interested candidates are required to submit a signed resolution of support from their agency’s board of directors in order to be eligible for the election. All candidate nomination forms, signed resolutions and candidate information must be submitted to ACWA no later than June 30, 2017.

The elections will begin on August 1, 2017, once the region nominating committees announce their recommended slate for each of the 10 region boards. An official electronic ballot identifying the recommended slate and any additional candidates for consideration will be sent to all ACWA member agencies. Only one ballot per agency will be accepted.

All region election ballots are due to be received by ACWA by September 29, and election results will be announced on Oct. 5, 2017.

If you have questions, please contact:

Regions 1, 3 & 5:Regional Affairs Representative Melissa Sparks

Regions 2, 6 & 7: Regional Affairs Representative Michael Cervantes

Region 4: Region & Member Services Specialist II Ana Javaid

Regions 8, 9 & 10: Regional Affairs Representative Brandon Ida

Or call (916) 441-4545

About ACWA Region Elections

ACWA Region elections occur in odd-number years to elect the officers of each region. The officers shall be a chair and a vice chair and three to five board members who are elected by their region by September 30, or the preceding Friday if September 30 falls on a weekend. The officers of the region board take office on January 1 of the calendar year following the election and hold office for two years. (ACWA Bylaw V.2.A).

Nominating Committee

The nominating committee role is to pursue qualified member candidates within the region to run for the region board. The nominated committee is appointed by the region chair in concurrence by the region board in the odd year. The nominating committee will select a recommended slate for the region election.

Call for Candidates

Will be sent out to all ACWA Region General Managers and Board Presidents on May 1, 2017.

Region Election Results Announced

ACWA Region election results are announced October 5, 2017.

Role of the Regions132.95 KB
ACWA Region 1 Rules & Regulations270.97 KB
ACWA Region 2 Rules & Regulations98.12 KB
ACWA Region 3 Rules & Regulations97.69 KB
ACWA Region 4 Rules & Regulations308.62 KB
ACWA Region 5 Rules & Regulations98.52 KB
ACWA Region 6 Rules & Regulations101.48 KB
ACWA Region 7 Rules & Regulations309.23 KB
ACWA Region 8 Rules & Regulations318.16 KB
ACWA Region 9 Rules & Regulations121.54 KB
ACWA Region 10 Rules & Regulations99.89 KB