Ted and Nancy Way Scholarship for the Next Generation of Water Leaders

Each year through the Ted and Nancy Way Scholarship for the Next Generation of Water Leaders, ACWA awards two $5,000 scholarships to qualified undergraduate students.

Apply for this Scholarship

Please review the Ted and Nancy Way Scholarship for the Next Generation of Water Leaders Guidelines thoroughly before completing the scholarship application. Applicants who do not meet the minimum eligibility requirements will not be considered.

Eligiblity and Application Requirements

  • Applicant must be a California resident at the time of application.
  • Applicant must be attending an accredited, University of California or California State University at the start of the academic year.
  • Applicant must be pursuing an undergraduate degree in a water resources-related field of study related to engineering, agricultural and/or urban water supply, environmental studies, or fisheries science
  • Applicant must be at least a junior at the time of the award.
  • Applicant must commit to full-time enrollment (12 semester units or 16 quarter units) for the entire academic year.
  • Applicant must submit at least two current letters of recommendation (but no more than three), with at least one of the letters originating from a college professor or employer.
  • Applicant must submit official transcripts for each college they have attended; printed class schedules will not be accepted.
  • Applicant must submit an essay responding to a specific prompt (no more than 800 words).

Selection Criteria

Scholarship recipients will be selected based on:

  • Scholastic achievement;
  • Demonstrated motivation to the vocation of water resources-related management;
  • The quality of the student’s essay; and
  • Commitment to full-time enrollment for the entire academic year.

Purpose and Disbursement

Scholarship funds are not disbursed to the student directly. Funds are disbursed to the appropriate Financial Aid Office in a lump sum of $5,000 and must be applied to the student’s account for tuition and fees. Scholarship funds should not be transferred directly to the student or be used for any other purpose.

If a scholarship recipient fails to meet the terms of this scholarship in any way, the award may be rescinded.

Past Recipients

  • Chloe Fowler, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo (2018)
  • Elizabeth Riggall, UC Davis (2018)