Stephen K. Hall ACWA Water Law & Policy Scholarship

Each year through the Stephen K. Hall ACWA Water Law & Policy Scholarship Program, ACWA awards one scholarship to a qualified graduate student. Beginning with the 2019-’20 scholarship cycle, the annual scholarship amount was increased to $10,000.

Apply for this Scholarship

Please review the Stephen K. Hall ACWA Water Law & Policy Scholarship Guidelines thoroughly before completing the scholarship application. Applicants who do not meet the minimum eligibility requirements will not be considered.

Eligibility and Application Requirements

  • Applicant must be attending an accredited, public or private U.S. college at the start of the academic year.
  • Applicant must be pursuing a graduate degree (Master’s, PhD, or Law School) in water law, water policy or public administration with a demonstrated concentration in the field of water resources.
  • Applicant must commit to full-time enrollment (8 semester units or 10 quarter units) for the entire academic year.
  • Applicant must submit at least three current letters of recommendation, with at least one of the letters originating from a college professor or employer; and
  • Applicant must submit official transcripts for each college they have attended; printed class schedules will not be accepted.
  • Applicant must submit an essay responding to specific prompt (no more than 1,000 words).

Selection Criteria

Scholarship recipients will be selected based on:

  • Scholastic achievement;
  • Demonstrated motivation to the vocation of water resources-related management;
  • The quality of the student’s essay; and
  • Commitment to full-time enrollment for the entire academic year.

Purpose and Disbursement

Scholarship funds are not disbursed to the student directly. Funds are disbursed to the appropriate Financial Aid Office in a lump sum of $10,000 and must be applied to the student’s account for tuition and fees. Scholarship funds should not be transferred directly to the student or be used for any other purpose.

If a scholarship recipient fails to meet the terms of this scholarship in any way, the award may be rescinded.

Past Recipients

  • Lili Vassereau, Harvard Kennedy School (2023)
  • Seam Guerin, Standford Law (2022)
  • Max Bricker, University of Denver Sturm College of Law (2021)
  • Ian Prichard, California State University Northridge (2020)
  • Dylan Soares, Harvard Law School (2019)
  • Carlos Carrillo, University of Southern California (2018)
  • Kaitlin Harr, McGeorge School of Law (2017)
  • Amanda Priest, American University (2016)
  • Olivia Filbrandt, UC Davis School of Law (2015)
  • Julian Fulton, UC Berkeley (2014)
  • Adam Jorge, UC Santa Barbara (2013)
  • Brian Chaffin, Oregon State University (2012)
  • Morgan Levy, UC Berkeley (2010)
  • Michael Kiparsky, UC Berekeley (2008)