Clair A. Hill Scholarship

Each year, through the Clair A. Hill Scholarship Program, the winner of the Clair A. Hill Agency Award for Excellence awards one $5,000 scholarship to a qualified undergraduate student to be applied to tuition and fees for the upcoming academic year. Applications must be completed by March 1 of each year.

Apply for this Scholarship

The Clair A. Hill Scholarship cycle for the 2017-’18 academic year is complete. Application materials for the next scholarship cycle (2018-’19 academic year) are available here.


  • Applicant must be a California resident at the time of application.
  • Applicant must be attending an accredited, University of California or California State University.
  • Applicant must be at least a junior at the time of the award.
  • Applicant must be a full time student in the academic year the scholarship is awarded.
  • Applicant must be pursuing an undergraduate degree in a water resources-related field related to engineering, agricultural and/or urban water supply, environmental studies, or public administration.

Additional Requirements

  • Applicant must submit an essay responding to specific prompt.
  • Applicant must submit at least two current letters of recommendation (but no more than three), with at least one of the letters originating from a college professor or employer; and
  • Applicant must submit official transcripts for each college they have attended; printed class schedules will not be accepted.

Selection Criteria

Scholarship recipients will be selected based on:

  • Scholastic achievement;
  • Demonstrated motivation to the vocation of water resources-related management;
  • The quality of the student’s essay; and
  • Commitment to full-time enrollment for the entire academic year.

Purpose and Disbursement

Scholarship funds are not disbursed to the student directly. Funds are disbursed to the appropriate Financial Aid Office in a lump sum of $5,000 and must be applied to the student’s account for tuition and fees. Scholarship funds should not be transferred directly to the student or be used for any other purpose.

If a scholarship recipient fails to meet the terms of this scholarship in any way, the award may be rescinded.

Past Recipients

  • Chelsea Darnelle, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo (2016)
  • Dylan Soares, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo (2015)
  • John MacDougall, California State University, East Bay (2014)
  • Kerilyn Ambrosini, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo (2013)
  • Nicholas Depsky, UC Davis (2012)